Virginia Senate Republican Caucus

Senate Republicans Gain 25th and 26th Nominees

Mon, 2011-07-04 20:00 -- Mike

RICHMOND, VA, 5 JULY 2011:  The Virginia Senate Republican Caucus continues its strong pace in selecting nominees for the November 8 General Election, with Bryce Reeves and Delegate Charles W. “Bill” Carrico, Sr. (R-Grayson) becoming the Party’s 25th and 26th nominees for the Virginia Senate.

Reeves will be the Republican challenger in the 17th District, while Delegate Carrico is vying to succeed retiring Senator William C. Wampler, Jr. (R-Bristol) in the 40th District.  Reeves and Carrico were the only candidates to file for the Republican nominations in their respective districts by the July 1 candidate filing deadlines set by the 17th and 40th Senate Districts Republican Committees.

The Senate Republican Caucus is poised to have nominees in at least 35 of the 40 Virginia Senate districts this year.  In contrast, Senate Democrats have announced candidates in just 24 districts, two fewer than the number Republicans have already nominated.

“Bryce and Bill will be great additions to the Senate Republican Caucus, and to the Senate of Virginia,” remarked Senate Minority Leader Thomas K. Norment, Jr. (R-James City).  “Our abundance of strong, qualified Republican nominees and candidates stands in stark contrast to the comparative paucity of Democrat candidates.  We are on track to have our most successful election year in Virginia history.”

The Republican Primaries on August 23 will determine the Party’s nominees in seven Senate districts.  A party-run nomination method will be used to determine the nominees in seven other districts.

The 27th Republican nominee for the Senate of Virginia will be chosen this weekend, when Republicans in the 6th Senate District hold a convention to select a nominee on July 9.

The 17th Senate District is comprised of the City of Fredericksburg and Orange County, and portions of Albemarle, Culpeper, Louisa and Spotsylvania Counties.  The 40th Senate District is comprised of the City of Bristol and Grayson, Lee, Scott, and Washington Counties, and portions of Smyth, Wise, and Wythe Counties.