Virginia Senate Republican Caucus

Senate Republicans Announce Leadership Team

tjcosgrove's picture
Tue, 2011-11-15 19:00 -- tjcosgrove

Richmond, Va, 16 November 2011:  The Virginia Senate Republican Caucus, which will serve as the majority caucus in the Senate of Virginia when the General Assembly convenes on January 11, 2012, formally announced the members of its leadership after a meeting this evening.

Senator Thomas K. Norment, Jr. (R-James City) will lead the Caucus, serving as Senate Majority Leader.  Senator Ryan T. McDougle (R-Hanover) will serve as Republican Caucus Chairman.  Senator Stephen D. Newman (R-Bedford County) will serve as Vice Chairman of the Caucus.

Senators Jeffrey L. McWaters (R-Virginia Beach), William M. Stanley, Jr. (R-Franklin County), and Jill Holtzman Vogel (R-Fauquier) will serve as Senate Majority Whips.  The Caucus leadership was unanimously elected.

“The people of Virginia voted to have Republicans lead the Senate of Virginia, and we are honored to have the opportunity to lead the Senate,” Norment declared.  “Working with Governor McDonnell, Lt. Governor Bolling, and the Republican leadership of the House of Delegates, we are prepared to enact a reform agenda that will revitalize Virginia’s economy and create jobs.”